(0 items )
  • No products in the cart.

The Seven Virtues of Bushido

February 6, 2010 / one comment, on Japanese Martial Arts, Bushido

Bushido is the way of the samurai. It is a set of values and virtues. It is a way of life. The virtues of Bushido are reflected in the 7 pleats of the hakama. These 7 virtues are:

  1. Gi (rectitude, justice, righteousness, integrity)
  2. Yuki (courage, valor, bravery)
  3. Jin (humanity, charity, benevolence)
  4. Rei (respect, courtesy, etiquette, civility)
  5. Makoto (honesty, sincerity)
  6. Meiyo (honor, dignity)
  7. Chugi (loyalty)


One comment

    Lisa Migliozzi

    March 7, 2015

    My youngest daughter started karate three years ago has been doing intra-dojo tournaments and other tournaments placing each time. We are going to nationals again in Vegas. I’m so proud of my daughter! I started two months ago and competed in my first intra-dojo tournament as an adult it was invigorating. I’m pleased to say I received a gold medal for first place as a white belt. My daughter is on her way of becoming a blackout. Even though I have a ways to go I’m not giving up. I will soon be a black belt. “never give up!”

Write a Reply or Comment:

Leave a Reply